Artist residency festival

11th october – 10th november 2019

Edition 2019 – The end of Forests *
Casa De Velázquez / Villa Kujoyama / Villa Médicis

For its 4th year, and after a successful edition in Marseille in 2018 (5800 visitors to the Villa Méditerranée)        ¡ Viva Villa ! 2019 is hosted by the Collection Lambert in Avignon from October 11 to November 10, 2019.

Since its creation in 2016, ¡ Viva Villa ! – the first festival of artists residencies – has been conceived  as a rendez-vous for emerging contemporary creation, where different disciplines, visions and perspectives could meet, cross and exchange. It aims to bring together each year the works of the residents of three prestigious artistic residencies  – Casa de Velázquez,  Villa Kujoyama and Académie de France à Rome – Villa Médicis – as well as many guest artists.

Close to the ramparts of the City of the Popes, the Collection Lambert opens the doors of the Hôtel de Montfaucon to this new edition under the curation of Cécile Debray, with this year’s theme The end of Forests*.

This edition will also be an opportunity to organize in Avignon professional meetings times with the founding institutions of ¡ Viva Villa !, their partners and respective ministries, the artist residencies and major institutions of the Région Sud,  as well as a decentralized plenary session of the Académie des beaux-arts. Debate spaces, open to all, will allow the questioning of current issues of contemporary creation, artistic research and work in residence.

This year again and with the complicity of the Collection Lambert, special appointments will be addressed to young / school audiences, with the aim of democratizing access to creation, as well as initiating and raising awareness of cultural practices to ultimately create a generational platform.

A moment of sharing, the festival offers artists both a space of conviviality and proximity with the French public and a showcase for working on the after-residency.  


André Baldinger, Giovanni Bertelli, Sasha J. Blondeau, Miguel Bonnefoy, Marie Bonnin, Seydou Cissé, Annie Claustres, Carlos De Castellarnau, Marion Delarue, Marine Delouvrier, Rebecca Digne, Frederika Amalia Finkelstein, Gaëlle Gabillet & Stéphane Villard, Christophe Galati, Hélène Giannecchini & Stéphanie Solinas, Lola Gonzàlez, Emmanuel Guillaud & Takao Kawaguchi, François Hébert, Hippolyte Hentgen, Clara Iannotta, Fernando Jiménez, Sylvain Konyali, Stéphanie Lacombe, Yann Lacroix, Pauline Lafille, Mathilde Lavenne, Cedric Le Corf, Thomas Lévy-Lasne, Mathieu Lucas, Thierry Machuel, Léonard Martin, Marta Mateus, Naomi Melville, Simon Moers & Tomoe Kobayashi, Camille Mutel, Nach, Carla Nicolás, Andrés Padilla Domene, Martine Rey, Lili Reynaud-Dewar, Samy Rio, Olivia Rosenthal, Sandrine Rozier, Arnaud Rykner, Riccardo Venturi, Clément Verger.
(sous réserve de modification)

* Title borrowed from a choreographic piece by Benjamin Bertrand, resident of Villa Kujoyama.